I’m still here!

Hey, y’all!  I’m checking in from Hurricane Sandy’s path of destruction to let you know I’m okay but without power, heat, telephone (except cell when I can recharge it), snail mail, cable, or internet.  My husband is sitting in a 75-car line to get gas because his license plate ends in an odd number. A giant oak tree crashed down in our backyard, missing the house by some miracle.

It took out half our fence and destroyed another large tree.  But I consider myself lucky compared to many folks along the coastlines whose lives were completely devastated by the storm.

My fellow Nancy has been wonderful about keeping things going here at Sister Towns.  A big thank you to my sister author!  As she has so kindly mentioned, TAKE ME HOME comes out tomorrow!  Yeehaw!

Truly though, I am having a hard time being totally excited when I see the pictures of the catastrophic damage Sandy inflicted on so many.  So I decided to donate a percentage of the royalties from TAKE ME HOME’s first week of sales (Nov. 6-13) to the American Red Cross to help folks recover and rebuild.  I feel like it’s the least I can do.  (To those who pre-ordered the book, a great big thank you and an assurance that your purchase will be counted in the donation too!)

It’s amazing how hard it is to get through your daily life when you don’t have electricity, but I still have a house (albeit a very dark and chilly one), and everyone I know and love is safe.  So many generous friends far and near have offered their own homes to me, and I have taken refuge in the local library and church on occasion.   The caring and generosity everyone has shown touches my heart and soul.  When bad things happen anywhere, we become an entire country of sister towns. Whether the town is the size of New York City or Glen Ridge, NJ, or Lewisburg, WV, we all join together to help.

About Nancy Herkness

Romance novelist. West Virginia native and New Jersey resident.
This entry was posted in take me home, weather and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m still here!

  1. nancynaigle says:

    So glad you’re safe. Know that we’re all thinking about you and all of your neighbors up there in the north as you pull your day-to-day routines back together after the cleanup!! Can’t wait to shout out the Red Cross donation…we’ll make your release week a HUGE week! Hugs~

  2. nancynaigle says:

    Here’s the easy link to get to Nancy’s novel that comes out tomorrow – no worries you can pre-order today!! http://www.amazon.com/Take-Me-Home-ebook/dp/B0089NUKS2/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1352141470&sr=1-2&keywords=take+me+home

  3. jennifer mathis says:

    Glad your safe

Leave a Reply

